Results of By-Election for TU Dublin SU Vice President for City Campus


Peter McCann has been declared the winner of a by-election contest for the position of Vice President for City Campus of TU Dublin Students’ Union. The outcome follows a day of polling which took place in all TU Dublin city campuses on Thursday April 20th.   

As a result of the by-election, the new TU Dublin SU Leadership Team now has a full complement of officers for the 2023/24 Academic Year.  This year’s elections are the first to be held under the new TU Dublin SU Constitution which was ratified by 96.4% of students who voted in a cross-campus referendum last November. The referendum resulted in the creation of a number of new part time officer roles focusing on student rights in specific areas, as well as one new full time officer position with responsibility for Communications and Media. 

Speaking following the by-election count, President of TU Dublin Students’ Union, Brian Jordan, expressed his delight that the election process was now complete, and said he was looking forward to starting work under the revitalised structure this summer.  

“Nine months ago, I first started to re-imagine what our Officer structure could look like. Fast forward through a referendum and several elections, and we now have a fully elected team in positions that we’ve never had before. It’s been an emotional year to say the least, but the team worked really hard to make sure we did everything we could for students, which is why all of us are so incredibly excited for the next 12 months.” 

Setting out his vision for the year ahead, Jordan added, “This is our opportunity to change things for the better. Our structure is better, our funding is secure, and our team are some of the best and brightest that we’ve seen in years. Whether it’s establishing a TU Dublin newspaper, significantly improving facilities across EVERY campus, or giving TU Dublin students a sense of pride within their university for the first time since its establishment, we are going to give it our all.”  

Following the conclusion of the by-election, all positions have now been filled, and the full list of officers for the TU Dublin Students’ Union Leadership Team for 2023/24 is as follows

  • President – Brian Jordan  
  • Vice President for Academic Affairs –  Shauna O’Toole  
  • Vice President for Welfare and Equality –  Nekesa Khisa Nancy  
  • Vice President for Events and Engagement –  Ian Kelly  
  • Vice President for Communications and Media – Louise Kavanagh 
  • Campus Vice President for Blanchardstown – Jeremy Lawler 
  • Campus Vice President for Tallaght – Sheran Bahadir 
  • Campus Vice President for City – Peter McCann
  • Postgraduate Officer – Jessica Perez 

The newly elected officers are set to take up their roles at the beginning of July, along with the 10 new SU Part-Time officers elected by Student Council to focus on student rights in areas including gender equality, disabilities and sustainability.  

+ posts


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here